EM3ev · Mid-drive · China
EM3ev BBSHD kit
Maker list
Battery in the offer. Charger included. Off-road.
A complete BBSHD build from a specialist kit maker: motor, named triangle pack and charger as one order.
- Continuous
- 1000 W
- Class
- Off-road
- Energy
- No pack
- Shell
- BSA 68–73 mm

01
Mid-drive
Power at the bottom bracket
- Continuous
- 1000 W
- Peak
- Set with the build
- Torque
- 160 Nm
- Mass
- On the card
EM3ev BBSHD kit bolts into the frame and drives the chainring. Continuous rated power is 1000 W. Claimed peak is Set with the build. Torque at the crank is 160 Nm. BBSHD 160 Nm class.
Read the build notes
Because the motor uses the bicycle’s gears, the same 1000 W feels different in a low gear on a climb and in a high gear on the flat. That is the point of a mid-drive.
02
Bottom bracket
BSA 68–73 mm
- Shell
- BSA 68–73 mm
- Tools
- BB removal, lockring
- Chainline
- Set by the ring
- Install
- Workshop
The shell is the fit. EM3ev BBSHD kit needs BSA 68–73 mm. The existing bottom bracket comes out. The motor spindle takes its place, and the lockring sets the chainline.
Read the build notes
A press-fit shell, a different width, or a carbon shell with an insert is not this configuration. The workshop measures the shell before the motor is unboxed.
03
Chainring
The ring is part of the motor
- Ring
- Included size
- Lockring
- Included
- Chain
- Existing, if the line is right
- Gears
- The bike’s
The chainring ships with EM3ev BBSHD kit. Its size is the one in the manual. A smaller ring for steeper hills is a different setup, not a silent swap.
Read the build notes
Chain, cassette and derailleur stay with the bike if the chainline lands. EM3ev includes the ring and the lockring so the motor and the drivetrain meet at a known offset.
04
Cranks
Arms, bolts, sensor
- Sensor
- Cadence
- Pedals
- Yours
- Cut-off
- On the sheet
- Throttle
- Not fitted
Crank arms bolt to the spindle of EM3ev BBSHD kit. The sensor is cadence, so the motor sees how the cranks are being turned, not only whether they are turning.
Read the build notes
Pedals are the rider’s own. The motor does not replace them. Assistance follows the pedal input up to the cut-off on the sheet.
05
Battery
Triangle pack
- Model
- Triangle pack
- Energy
- Matched when the pack is named
- Voltage
- 52 V
- Chemistry
- Lithium-ion
Triangle pack is the pack for EM3ev BBSHD kit. Matched when the pack is named, Set with the build, 52 V. Lithium-ion
Read the build notes
It is mounted where the manual shows, on this frame type: mountain, cargo, hybrid. The complete system mass is motor plus this pack. BBSHD, Triangle battery, Charger, Display.
06
Charger
Included charger
- Model
- Included charger
- Included
- Yes
- Pack
- Triangle pack
- Warranty
- Maker warranty. Term is on the invoice.
Included charger charges Triangle pack and nothing else in this configuration. It is in the Maker list offer.
Read the build notes
Leave the pack on its own charger. A higher-voltage brick with the same plug is the wrong part.
07
Display
Bar unit for this generation
- Controller
- Included controller
- Reads
- Assist, speed, charge
- Mount
- Handlebar
- Generation
- Catalogue
The display is paired to the controller in EM3ev BBSHD kit: Included controller. It shows assist level, speed and the state of charge for Triangle pack.
Read the build notes
A display from another generation is not a spare. Buttons, connector and the firmware family belong to this motor.
08
Chainline
The frame has to agree
- Formats
- mountain, cargo, hybrid
- Uses
- hills, cargo, touring
- Path
- Workshop
- Offer
- Maker list
Mid-drives fail quietly when the chainline is wrong: the chain climbs the cassette, the stay rubs, the clutch chatters. EM3ev BBSHD kit is checked on the bike, not on a bench photo.
Read the build notes
A workshop install is the path on file. The quote covers the motor fit. Bent hangers, worn cassettes and brake work are extra.
Install
Order of work
Workshop install, in this order.
- 01Measure the shell. EM3ev BBSHD kit needs BSA 68–73 mm.
- 02Remove the bottom bracket, hang the motor, and set the lockring.
- 03Fit the included chainring and check the chainline against the cassette.
- 04Mount Triangle pack and connect Included charger only as a matched pair.
- 05Route the loom along the down tube. Fit the display. Set the sensor.
- 06Torque the crank bolts. Ride the stand. Confirm the cut-off and the gears.
In depth
Read EM3ev BBSHD kit before you book it.
Mid-drive · Off-road · China. The numbers below are the ones on this configuration, not the family in general.
The offer
What EM3ev BBSHD kit actually is
EM3ev BBSHD kit is one configuration from EM3ev, made in China, filed here as a mid-drive. The family is BBSHD, generation Catalogue. A complete BBSHD build from a specialist kit maker: motor, named triangle pack and charger as one order.
In the box, as this record has it: BBSHD, Triangle battery, Charger, Display. Still required before the bike moves under its own assist: BSA shell, Frame that accepts the triangle. A cheaper advert for the same family name is not this list. If the battery, the charger or the throttle differs, it is a different configuration and it gets a different page.
Same 1000 W motor class as a bare BBSHD. The difference is a named pack in the offer.
The price on the card is the maker’s published figure in USD, or Maker list when no figure was published. Allowances for a missing pack, a charger and workshop time sit in the complete-cost band. They are not a second product and they are not a promise that a random pack will talk to this controller.
The bicycle
The frame this motor is asking for
EM3ev lists EM3ev BBSHD kit against Mountain, Cargo, Hybrid bicycles, for Hills, Load carrying, Touring. Wheel sizes on the card: 700c, 26, 27.5. The mechanical interface is BSA 68–73 mm. Brakes are disc.
A mid-drive takes the bottom bracket’s job. The shell width, the thread or the press-fit standard, and the chainstay clearance decide it. The bike’s own gears then multiply whatever the motor puts into the chainring, which is why a modest continuous rating can still climb if the shell is the right one.
Pedals stay. This configuration is a bicycle with assistance, not a motorcycle conversion. Sensor on the card: cadence. Cut-off on the card: not stated. Throttle: not fitted.
The numbers
1000 W is not the whole story
Continuous rated power for EM3ev BBSHD kit is 1000 W. Claimed peak is not stated separately from the continuous rating. Torque is 160 Nm. BBSHD 160 Nm class. Motor mass is not published. System mass, once the named parts are on the bike, is BBSHD, Triangle battery, Charger, Display.
Peak is a short claim. Street rules, including the Great Britain check on this site, use continuous rated power and the speed at which assistance stops. A controller that can be unlocked does not change the record of the motor as sold. EM3ev BBSHD kit is filed in the Off-road class: Above street classes. Private land and closed courses.
Off-road on this site means the published rating sits above the ordinary street classes. It is for private land and closed courses unless a specific controller is sold as a limited street version. That limited version would be its own page.
Pack and charger
The pack is part of the kit
Triangle pack is no watt-hour figure in this offer at 52 V. Lithium-ion The charger is Included charger.
Nominal watt-hours are voltage times amp-hours when both are known. That is stored energy on the label, not usable energy, and not a mileage promise. Cold, load, hills and how full you dare to run the pack all move the distance. Any range sketch on this page shows the watt-hours per kilometre it assumed.
Charge this pack with the charger named for it. The same plug on a higher-voltage brick is the wrong part. A swollen, hot, hissing or sharp-smelling pack is a stop: do not open it and do not keep charging it.
Mid-drive
How EM3ev uses this layout
Mid-drive. EM3ev BBSHD kit sits at the bottom bracket and drives a chainring, so the bicycle’s gears become the motor’s gears. Climbing in a low gear is the point. Spinning a tiny ring on the flat, at the motor’s expense, is how chains and cassettes die early.
The shell on this record is BSA 68–73 mm. Press-fit, a worn cartridge, or a carbon shell with a hopeful adapter is a workshop measurement, not a yes from the listing. Chainline is the quiet failure: the chain climbs, the stay rubs, the clutch chatters.
Cadence sensing means the motor comes in when the crank is turning and the assist level says so. It can feel like a switch. Programming the ramp is part of living with it, and a hotter programme is a different legal object from the one on this page.
The workshop
A workshop path, written as a sequence
EM3ev BBSHD kit is a workshop install in this record. Doing it yourself does not rewrite the path into a pass. It means the documented route was not the one you took, and the result stays conditional until someone competent has seen the bike.
Warranty as published: Maker warranty. Term is on the invoice.. Labour in the cost band is separate from the offer. A brake service the bike already needed, a new chain, or a hanger alignment is not folded into EM3ev’s price to make the total look neat.
The sensible order is measure, then mount, then connect, then the first assisted roll in the stand. Connectors are keyed for a reason. The torque arm, the axle nuts and the connector boots are one inspection at the end, not three trips.
After it is on
The first month, and the parts that wear
Chains and cassettes wear faster because the motor can hold a high torque in a small gear. Shift before the load spikes. A worn cassette is a workshop line, not a reason to suspect the motor first. Keep the chainring that shipped with the kit until you have a reason, in writing, to change the ratio.
Keep Included charger with Triangle pack. Store the pack cool, part-charged if it will sit, and not in a hallway that is your only exit. EM3ev’s display, if one is included, is paired to this controller generation. A screen from the next family is not a spare.
My Garage on this device can hold the configuration, who fitted it, and what was still open. That note is for you and for the next workshop. It is not a certificate. If a later notice lands on this configuration, the record is where it should show.
Read next to it
From the library
- What a conversion kit actually includesA motor wheel and a complete system are not the same product. The page should say which one you are looking at.
- Watts, torque, and the sticker that does not mean rangeContinuous watts, peak watts and newton-metres describe different moments. Mixing them is how a listing looks twice as strong as the motor you will live with.
- Speed classes, from 25 km/h to off-roadThe class is a property of the kit as sold. The road you may use it on is a property of the country, and sometimes of the state or the canton.
- Bottom brackets: 68, 73, and the shells that are not BSAA mid-drive does not sit beside the bracket. It becomes the bracket. Width and thread are the fit.
- Cadence sensing and torque sensingOne motor notices that you are turning the pedals. The other notices how hard. The ride, the wiring and the price all change with that choice.
- Cargo bikes and longtailsThe motor is the easy part. The chain, the brakes and the length of the frame are the job.
Specification
Published figures for this configuration.
- Drive
- Mid-driveDocument reviewed
- Sensor
- cadenceManufacturer stated
- Continuous rated power
- 1000 WManufacturer stated
- Claimed peak power
- UnknownNot verified
Not used as the continuous rating.
- Nominal voltage
- 52 VManufacturer stated
- Torque
- 160 NmManufacturer stated
BBSHD 160 Nm class.
- Motor weight
- UnknownNot verified
BBSHD, Triangle battery, Charger, Display
- System weight
- UnknownNot verified
BBSHD, Triangle battery, Charger, Display
- Controller
- Included controllerDocument reviewed
- Wheel sizes
- 700c, 26, 27.5Document reviewed
- Axle
- Not a hub axleDocument reviewed
- Brakes
- DiscDocument reviewed
- Bottom bracket
- BSA 68–73 mmDocument reviewed
- Assistance cut-off
- UnknownNot verified
- Throttle in this configuration
- NoDocument reviewed
- Warranty
- Maker warranty. Term is on the invoice.Manufacturer stated
Complete cost
Uncertain lines stay labelled. Shipping and import charges are not estimated.
| Kit offer | Maker list | Listed price |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | Included | Triangle pack |
| Charger | Included | Included charger |
| Required accessories | Maker list | Allowance |
| Installation | Maker list–Maker list | Workshop band |
| Shipping | Not estimated | Ask the seller |
Estimated complete Maker list–Maker list
Nominal energy
Unknown. Not inferred from voltage alone.
Range sketch
Add a named pack before a distance is drawn.
Included
- BBSHD
- Triangle battery
- Charger
- Display
Required as well
- BSA shell
- Frame that accepts the triangle
Battery and charger
- Battery model
- Triangle packDocument reviewed
- Charger model
- Included chargerDocument reviewed
- Chemistry
- Lithium-ionManufacturer stated
- Capacity
- UnknownNot verified
Same 1000 W motor class as a bare BBSHD. The difference is a named pack in the offer.
Seller offers
Published offers in Great Britain.
EM3ev
Maker list
China · BBSHD. Triangle battery. Charger
List price not published in the source used. Ask the maker.
Source documents
- Published specificationManufacturer stated
EM3ev builds complete Bafang BBSHD systems with triangle packs.
Change history
- 17 Oct 2026
Entered from a published maker or press specification.