Skarper · Disk drive · United Kingdom
Skarper
Maker list
Battery in the offer. Charger included. 25 km/h.
British disk drive. The motor sits on the chainstay and drives the rear disc, not the tyre and not the bottom bracket. 250 W, about 240 Wh.
- Continuous
- 250 W
- Class
- 25 km/h
- Energy
- 240 Wh
- Axle
- Uses the existing rear wheel
01
Roller
Drive against the tyre
- Continuous
- 250 W
- Peak
- Set with the build
- Mass
- On the card
- Drive
- Tyre roller
Skarper presses a driven roller into the rear tyre. There is no motor wheel and no bottom-bracket unit. Continuous rated power is 250 W. The peak figure on the sales card is Set with the build.
Read the build notes
The roller, the swing and the spring that holds it on the tyre are the product. Mass of the unit is on the card.
02
Bracket
Clamp, stay, clearance
- Wheels
- 700c, 26, 27.5
- Mount
- Frame clamp
- Path
- Specialist
- Formats
- road, hybrid
The bracket clamps to the frame and holds the roller over the tyre. Seatstay shape, brake bridge and rack eyelets decide whether it lands. Skarper is a specialist fit for that reason.
Read the build notes
Tyre size changes the contact. The wheels this unit is offered against are 700c, 26, 27.5. A bigger tyre can foul the roller or lift it off the rubber.
03
Tyre
The tyre is the drivetrain
- Contact
- Rear tyre
- Wear
- Expected
- Pressure
- Set at install
- Guard
- Must clear
Friction drives wear the tyre they push. Skarper needs a tyre in sound condition, at the pressure the workshop sets, with clearance to the brake and the mudguard.
Read the build notes
Wet roads and worn tread are part of the assessment. If the roller slips, the answer is the setup, not a higher power claim.
04
Battery
Not in the roller offer
- Included
- No
- Voltage
- 36 V
- Energy
- Not stated
- Allowance
- Maker list
Skarper does not include a battery. Voltage class is 36 V. The complete-cost band holds Maker list for a pack once a model is actually named.
Read the build notes
No watt-hour figure is printed here, because none is on the roller papers. Range is not drawn from a voltage alone.
05
Electrics
Controller and lead
- Controller
- Included controller
- Cut-off
- 15.5 mph
- Charger
- Maker list
- Hardware
- Maker list
The roller needs a controller and a lead to the bar. Included controller Cut-off is 15.5 mph.
Read the build notes
Charger allowance is Maker list. Accessories allowance is Maker list, covering the bracket hardware the papers do not itemise.
06
Assessment
The bike has to be in the stand
- Labour
- Maker list–Maker list
- Offer
- Maker list
- Place
- In the stand
- Warranty
- As stated
Skarper is a small friction-drive maker. Skarper is not given a remote yes. Clearance, tyre and frame clamp are looked at on the actual bicycle.
Read the build notes
Workshop labour in the cost band is Maker list–Maker list. Maker warranty. Term is on the invoice..
Install
Order of work
Specialist assessment, then the build.
- 01Put the bike in the stand. Look at stay shape, brake bridge and mudguard.
- 02Offer the Skarper roller to the tyre and mark the clamp.
- 03Fit the bracket so the roller meets the tyre square, with the spring in its working range.
- 04Route the lead. Fit the controller and the switch at the bar.
- 05Set tyre pressure. Check for rub through the travel of the roller.
- 06Only then talk about a pack. None is in this offer.
In depth
Read Skarper before you book it.
Disk drive · 25 km/h · United Kingdom. The numbers below are the ones on this configuration, not the family in general.
The offer
What Skarper actually is
Skarper is one configuration from Skarper, made in United Kingdom, filed here as a disk drive. The family is Disk, generation Catalogue. British disk drive. The motor sits on the chainstay and drives the rear disc, not the tyre and not the bottom bracket. 250 W, about 240 Wh.
In the box, as this record has it: Disk drive unit, Pack, Charger, Chainstay mount. Still required before the bike moves under its own assist: Disc-brake rear wheel, Chainstay clearance. A cheaper advert for the same family name is not this list. If the battery, the charger or the throttle differs, it is a different configuration and it gets a different page.
250 W class. The fit engine treats it as a specialist friction-class install because it is not a hub or a BSA motor.
The price on the card is the maker’s published figure in GBP, or Maker list when no figure was published. Allowances for a missing pack, a charger and workshop time sit in the complete-cost band. They are not a second product and they are not a promise that a random pack will talk to this controller.
The bicycle
The frame this motor is asking for
Skarper lists Skarper against Road, Hybrid bicycles, for Commuting, Leisure. Wheel sizes on the card: 700c, 26, 27.5. The mechanical interface is Uses the existing rear wheel. Brakes are disc.
This architecture does not replace the axle or the bottom bracket. The question is whether the mount — roller, rotor, seat stay or hitch — has a flat, strong place to live, and whether the tyre, the disc or the seat post is the one the maker designed for.
Pedals stay. This configuration is a bicycle with assistance, not a motorcycle conversion. Sensor on the card: torque. Cut-off on the card: 15.5 mph. Throttle: not fitted.
The numbers
250 W is not the whole story
Continuous rated power for Skarper is 250 W. Claimed peak is not stated separately from the continuous rating. Torque is not published as a crank or hub figure. Manufacturer stated. Motor mass is not published. System mass, once the named parts are on the bike, is Disk drive unit, Pack, Charger, Chainstay mount.
Peak is a short claim. Street rules, including the Great Britain check on this site, use continuous rated power and the speed at which assistance stops. A controller that can be unlocked does not change the record of the motor as sold. Skarper is filed in the 25 km/h class: 250 W pedelec class used across the EU, Great Britain and Australia.
In this class the useful comparison is torque and mass, not a bigger watt sticker. A 250 W torque-sensing mid-drive and a 250 W cadence hub do not feel alike, and neither of them becomes legal somewhere else just because the sticker matches.
Pack and charger
The pack is part of the kit
Skarper pack is 240 Wh at 36 V. Lithium-ion The charger is Included charger.
Nominal watt-hours are voltage times amp-hours when both are known. That is stored energy on the label, not usable energy, and not a mileage promise. Cold, load, hills and how full you dare to run the pack all move the distance. Any range sketch on this page shows the watt-hours per kilometre it assumed.
Charge this pack with the charger named for it. The same plug on a higher-voltage brick is the wrong part. A swollen, hot, hissing or sharp-smelling pack is a stop: do not open it and do not keep charging it.
Disk drive
How Skarper uses this layout
Disk drive. Skarper drives the brake rotor, or sits beside it, instead of replacing the hub or the bracket. The wheel you already trust can stay, which is the reason people with a good wheelset look at this architecture.
The mount needs a chainstay or a caliper area that is round, reachable and strong enough. A rear disc is required. Rim-brake bikes are a different problem and are not solved with a wish.
Heat in the rotor is shared with the brake. The workshop looks at pad clearance and whether the drive puck and the caliper argue. That is a specialist fit on this record when the card says so.
The workshop
Specialist, even if a shop is doing it
Skarper is marked specialist. An online fit is a brief. The stand still has to see the frame. Cargo, long chainstays, unusual dropouts and this architecture are why the automated check stops.
Warranty as published: Maker warranty. Term is on the invoice.. Labour in the cost band is separate from the offer. A brake service the bike already needed, a new chain, or a hanger alignment is not folded into Skarper’s price to make the total look neat.
The sensible order is measure, then mount, then connect, then the first assisted roll in the stand. Connectors are keyed for a reason. The torque arm, the axle nuts and the connector boots are one inspection at the end, not three trips.
After it is on
The first month, and the parts that wear
Spoke tension on a motor wheel is part of the service, especially in the first few hundred kilometres while the wheel beds in. A ticking torque arm is a loose bolt, not a personality. Check axle nuts after the first week.
Keep Included charger with Skarper pack. Store the pack cool, part-charged if it will sit, and not in a hallway that is your only exit. Skarper’s display, if one is included, is paired to this controller generation. A screen from the next family is not a spare.
My Garage on this device can hold the configuration, who fitted it, and what was still open. That note is for you and for the next workshop. It is not a certificate. If a later notice lands on this configuration, the record is where it should show.
Read next to it
From the library
- What a conversion kit actually includesA motor wheel and a complete system are not the same product. The page should say which one you are looking at.
- Watts, torque, and the sticker that does not mean rangeContinuous watts, peak watts and newton-metres describe different moments. Mixing them is how a listing looks twice as strong as the motor you will live with.
- Speed classes, from 25 km/h to off-roadThe class is a property of the kit as sold. The road you may use it on is a property of the country, and sometimes of the state or the canton.
- Disk drives and seat-stay motorsTwo ways to add a motor without rebuilding the wheel or pulling the bottom bracket.
Documentation completeness 67% · Current · Friction drive
Specification
Published figures for this configuration.
- Drive
- Friction driveDocument reviewed
- Sensor
- torqueManufacturer stated
- Continuous rated power
- 250 WManufacturer stated
- Claimed peak power
- UnknownNot verified
Not used as the continuous rating.
- Nominal voltage
- 36 VManufacturer stated
- Torque
- UnknownNot verified
Manufacturer stated.
- Motor weight
- UnknownNot verified
Disk drive unit, Pack, Charger, Chainstay mount
- System weight
- UnknownNot verified
Disk drive unit, Pack, Charger, Chainstay mount
- Controller
- Included controllerDocument reviewed
- Wheel sizes
- 700c, 26, 27.5Document reviewed
- Axle
- Uses the existing rear wheelDocument reviewed
- Brakes
- DiscDocument reviewed
- Bottom bracket
- Not applicableDocument reviewed
- Assistance cut-off
- 15.5 mphDocument reviewed
- Throttle in this configuration
- NoDocument reviewed
- Warranty
- Maker warranty. Term is on the invoice.Manufacturer stated
Complete cost
Uncertain lines stay labelled. Shipping and import charges are not estimated.
| Kit offer | Maker list | Listed price |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | Included | Skarper pack |
| Charger | Included | Included charger |
| Required accessories | Maker list | Allowance |
| Installation | Maker list–Maker list | Workshop band |
| Shipping | Not estimated | Ask the seller |
Estimated complete Maker list–Maker list
Nominal energy
240 Wh
Stated on the pack.
Range sketch
About 16 km at 12 Wh/km, using 80% of nominal energy.
Easier roads, 8 Wh/km, about 24 km. Hills, 18 Wh/km, about 11 km.
Included
- Disk drive unit
- Pack
- Charger
- Chainstay mount
Required as well
- Disc-brake rear wheel
- Chainstay clearance
Battery and charger
- Battery model
- Skarper packDocument reviewed
- Charger model
- Included chargerDocument reviewed
- Chemistry
- Lithium-ionManufacturer stated
- Capacity
- UnknownNot verified
250 W class. The fit engine treats it as a specialist friction-class install because it is not a hub or a BSA motor.
Seller offers
Published offers in Great Britain.
Skarper
Maker list
United Kingdom · Disk drive unit. Pack. Charger
List price not published in the source used. Ask the maker.
Source documents
- Published specificationManufacturer stated
Cyclingnews comparison: Skarper disk drive, 250 W, about 240 Wh.
Change history
- 17 Oct 2026
Entered from a published maker or press specification.